Steak with a Merlot Sauce — 5 Stars

I’ve been cooking a lot over the past several months.  I’ve also been entertaining a lot, traveling a lot, and volunteering a lot.  Clearly, I have not been writing (about my cooking, or even in response to emails) a lot.  Here’s one of the delicious recipes I’ve made.

It all started with my goal of making Paula Deen’s NY Striptease (steak with a bordeaux sauce) with Truffle Potatoes and Carrot Puree.  When I went to make the sauce, but found I didn’t have on hand 3 of the 4 ingredients (I only had honey), so I decided I should try a different recipe.  I stumbled across this Steak with Shallot Merlot sauce recipe on epicurious.

Oh. My. Goodness.  This recipe was soooooo good.  I have tears in my eyes simply recalling the pleasure of eating this steak.  Additional positives: 1) I got to use my cast iron pan, 2) the simple recipe took may 30-35 minutes total, 3) a month later my dinner guest is still singing my praises.

I found the sauce was plenty (you could have doubled the steak and still have been fine).  I used 3 Buck Chuck for the wine, and it was tasty, so a lower end wine is fine for this dish.  I slightly increased the amount of shallots from 1 1/2 Tbsp to 2 Tbsp.  Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients
1 12- to 14-ounce sirloin steak
A little bit of olive oil
2 tablespoons (about 1 clove) finely chopped shallots
3/8 cup (or 6 Tbsp) Merlot
3/4 cup beef stock or canned broth
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp black pepper

Directions
1. Cut steak into two pieces. Sprinkle both sides of steak with sea salt and black pepper.
2. Heat oil in heavy large skillet over high heat. Add steak and cook until brown, about 1.5 minutes per side. Reduce heat to medium and cook steak to desired doneness, about 5 minutes per side for medium-well. Transfer steak to plate; tent with foil.
3. Add shallots to same skillet and sauté over medium-high heat 1 minute.
4. Add Merlot; boil until reduced by half, about 2 minutes.
5. Add stock; boil until syrupy, about 8 minutes.
6. Remove skillet from heat. Add butter and whisk until melted.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

