Pretty Pumpkin Pancakes — 3.5 Stars

Happy (Day After) Thanksgiving to You!

I’ll soon post the recipe for the Pumpkin Praline Cheesecake I made for my Thanksgiving potluck, but my mind has already focused on what to make in the days after Thanksgiving.  The big meals (lunch and dinner) can be served with leftovers, but what about my favorite meal — breakfast?  These pumpkin pancakes are new to me this year, and I suspect I’ll be keeping them for future years.

I was inspired by a couple pumpkin pancake recipes I found on other sites (such as this one), but in the end, I’ve changed the recipe enough to call it my own (I think).  The recipe makes approximately 9, 1/4-cup pancakes. Enjoy hot, with butter and syrup, and Christmas music playing in the background.

Ingredients
1 1/4 cup flour
2 1/2 Tbsp sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground allspice
(I’m sure there’s a way to substitute pumpkin spice for all of the spices mentioned, but I don’t know it)
1 cup (fat free) milk
1/2 cup (canned) pumpkin puree
2 Tbsp oil
1 egg

Directions
1. In a small bowl, whisk together the milk, pumpkin puree, oil and egg.
2. In a large bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.
3. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the large bowl, and stir until all ingredients are well combined.
4. Over low-medium heat, pour 1/4 batter into an oiled skillet for each pancake. Cook for around 3 minutes per side.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

