Simple Salmon Pasta — 4 stars

I promise I know how to make more than a basic protein + sauce + pasta dish, but they’re just so simple and flavorful.  This week was Fall Break Professional Development Week on campus, so I of course took the opportunity to host a dinner.  On the menu: Masala Chicken, Okra & Tomatoes, Lemon Squares, and a Simple Salmon Pasta.  I forgot to turn the chicken over halfway; since I cooked it under the broiler, it was a less than perfect looking dish.  I tried a new recipe for the lemon squares….Definitely stick with your tried and true recipes when you’re putting together a dinner party.  This pasta dish, however, turned out quite nicely.

I’ll be honest with you.  I didn’t measure anything for this recipe, and it’s been a couple days since I made the meal, but I wanted to capture what I did.  A couple people asked for the recipe and a general, “How did you make this?”  I really wasn’t trying to be rude when I said, “Cooked the fish, made a sauce, and put it over pasta,” but at the time, that was the best way I could describe my recipe.  Hopefully, the recipe below provides better insight into how to make this dish.

Ingredients
10 oz (uncooked) whole wheat penne pasta (roughly 3/4 of a standard size box of pasta)
2 Tbsp oil
2 tsp cajun seasoning (I used a spice mix from the store)
3/4 lb salmon fillet
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
2 cloves garlic
1 1/3 cup chicken broth
1 Tbsp cornstarch

Directions
1. Coat both sides of the salmon fillet with the cajun seasoning.
2. In a large pot, begin boiling the water for your pasta.
3. In a large frying pan, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the fish. Cook for 3-4 minutes; flip, and cook for another 4 minutes. When the fish is cooked (a bright pink color, nice and flaky), take it out of the pan and set aside.
4. While the fish is cooking, in a small bowl, mix together the cornstarch and chicken broth. No lumps if you can.
5. The pasta water will probably be boiling when you remove the fish from the pan, so add the pasta to the boiling water.
6. Sautee the onions and garlic in the pan. Pour in the cornstarch – chicken broth mixture. Bring to boil, and let boil for 1 minute. Then, reduce heat to low and simmer for a couple minutes.
7. Drain the pasta, and place into large serving dish. Pour the sauce over the pasta. Cut the pasta into bite-size pieces (I think mine were 1″ x .5″) and transfer to the serving dish. Mix well, serve, and eat.

Thanks to my friend NB, who suggested I use the cornstarch. Without the cornstarch, the sauce would have been way too thin.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Salmon Pasta — 4 stars

  1. Tes says:

    This sounds like a wonderful recipe. It is so simple and really easy. I love salmon with pasta and I think this recipe is really perfect for my family. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

