Bacon Wrapped Chicken — 5 Stars

I’ve been in my temporary city for a good six weeks now, and still don’t really know anyone.  It’s been tough not entertaining or cooking for others for the past several months (that pesky grad school program often gets in the way of my real life).  There are six other interns my age-ish at work, so I decided to give myself something to do and an excuse to cook…I mean, I decided to invite everyone over to enjoy themselves.

They came over for what was supposed to be an afternoon of fun games, good company, and tasty food.  I purposely scheduled the event in the afternoon to get away with just serving appetizers.  (As a side note, I love making appetizers.  I have a book of 500 appetizer recipes.  Appetizers are smart and cute and fun.)  For my menu, I selected turkey-herb cream cheese – spinach wraps, chocolate chip cookies, and Sweet Bacon Wrapped Chicken.  The wraps had gone over well in the past, and my chocolate chip cookies are always a success.  Everyone absolutely loved the chicken — to the point where people barely touched the wraps.

The instructions for these are fairly straightforward.  My toothpicks did not catch fire, or even smoke, while in the oven for 40 minutes.  It took me about 30-45 minutes to prepare these, but they could be prepared in advanced and kept in the fridge until just before baking. I line almost everything with non-stick foil, and it was a huge help in successfully removing the chicken from the pan and in clean-up afterwards.  Make these, and your friends will love you.

Ingredients
1 lb chicken breasts
1 package (I think 1 lb) bacon
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp chili powder
1/8 tsp red pepper to kick it up a notch (or 1/4 if you want a strong kick)

Directions
1. In a small bowl, mix the brown sugar, chili powder, and red pepper.
2. Cut the chicken into bite-size cubes (I think mine were about 1″ x 1″ x .5″)
3. Cut the bacon into thirds (about 1″ x 3″)
4. Wrap each chicken cube with one piece of bacon.
5. Roll each wrapped chicken in the brown sugar mixture.
6. Secure each piece with a toothpick, and place wrapped chicken on a baking sheet.
7. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

