Apple Pancakes — 4 Stars

Happy new year! Happy new year! Happy new year! Happy new year!

[clears throat] Okay, a happy new year to you. When I woke up this morning, I decided I should do something nice to start the new year. That turned out to be make pancakes or crepes for my family. I just made crepes for myself two weeks ago, so I decided on pancakes for the family. And we happened to have an excess of apples; after searching my tagged recipes, I found one entitled "apple pancakes" recipe.

In short…Don’t try the recipe as written. I tasted the first pancake to be finished, and it was much, much, too bland. I know you said). After adding in brown sugar, a cinnamon sugar mix (coating from yesterday’s snickerdoodkes), cinnamon, and nutmeg, I ended up with pancakes my dad says are, "the most scrumptious pancakes in the world." Here’s (roughly) the recipe I made.

Ingredients
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup milk
2 1/4 cups flour
1 heaping tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 large apples, chopped (I used Fuji, but something with a stronger flavor might be nice)

Directions
1. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs until well beaten
2. Add the milk to the large bowl, and continue whisking
3. Add the dry ingredients to the large bowl. Stir until well combined with a mixing spoon.
4. Add in the apples, and stir until evenly distributed and well coated.
5. Heat a skillet to medium-low heat, and Coat with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cups of batter onto the skillet for each pancake. (Trust me on this…much more than 1/4 cup will create a mess when you turn over the pancake.)
6. Cook until golden on one side; flip, and cook until golden on the other side…About 2 minutes per side

And my family and I can vouch for honey, maple syrup, and boysenberry syrup all being excellent toppings for these pancakes. They’re also good sans syrup.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

