Slow Cooker Peanut Butter Soup — 4 stars

Usually when I tell people I’m craving Peanut Butter Soup, they look at me as though I’m crazy. First, I don’t even like Peanut Butter. Second, "Peanut butter as the basis for soup?!" they exclaim. Peanut Butter Soup seems perfectly natural to me. It (aka: Peanut Soup) is fairly common in West Africa, and seeing as both my parents are from Ghana, I grew up with this soup. It’s also probably why I crave it from time to time.

Now, to make this soup the traditional way, you have to chop tomatoes and onions, boil chicken til it’s cooked, make a couple purees, and then watch the thing as it finishes cooking for 30 minutes to an hour. That’s great when you have the time, but I, of course, don’t have the time. I thus set out to make this recipe in the crock pot.

I have to be honest with you. It’s been about a month and a half since I made this recipe, so my mind is a little hazy on the exact details. I’m pretty sure that if you follow these instructions, though, you’ll come up with something fairly tasty.

Ingredients
1 medium large onion, chopped
1 14 oz can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup tomato
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1.5 lbs chicken (I used 5 drumsticks)
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1/2 tsp red pepper
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 bay leaf
1 bag okra

Directions
I used a 4 qt. crock pot
1. Place the chicken at the bottom of the crock pot
2. Puree the onions and 3/4 tomatoes together (the Magic Bullet works great here). Add to the crock pot.
3. Blend the remaining tomatoes together with the peanut butter and 1/4 cup water until smooth. Add to the crock pot.
4. Add water to the crock pot to reach about 1.5" – 2" below the top
5. Add in the chicken bouillon, salt, and peppers. Stir well. Add in the bay leaf
6. Cook on low for 8 hours
7. Add the okra. Cook on low for another 2 hours

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

