Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings — 2 Stars

Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings. It seemed easy and tasty enough. The reviews said, “better than my grandmother’s homemade recipe.” 2,676 reviews and an average allrecipes.com rating of 4.5 of 5 stars. I was disappointed in the finished product.

To be honest, I halved the amount of chicken and biscuits called for, and used a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of two cans of cream of chicken soup the recipe told me to use. Aside from that, I kept the recipe as is. [deep sigh] It’s just not a recipe I’d make again, as written. First, there wasn’t nearly enough chicken (my fault). Secondly, even though I used 1/2 the dough called for, there were waaaaaay too many “dumplings.” Thirdly, the dish was pretty salty (since I didn’t add any extra salt, maybe if I had used low sodium cream of chicken/mushroom, it would have been okay). Part of me wants to say that this dish has potential. When I dished it out onto my plate, and combined what I thought to be the perfect amounts of chicken, dumplings, and soup, it was pretty tasty (if a little salty).

I’d consider making this with the changes above in the future if I needed to feed a lot of people and only wanted to put in minimal work. The other part of me, though, knows I have plenty of tried and true recipes, and a lot of to-try reccipes that will be at least as tasty as this. I probably won’t make it again, but below is the version of the recipe I’d make if I do try this again.

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (total weight: 2lbs)
1 Tbsp butter
2, 10.5 oz cans low sodium cream of chicken soup
1 small onion, finely diced
2 teaspoon spices (pepper, rosemary, thyme, red pepper)
1 , 10 oz package refrigerated biscuit dough (each biscuit cut into 4-6 pieces)

Directions
1. Place ingredients into the slow cooker in the following order: chicken, soup, onion, , spices, butter
2. Cover, and cook on high for 5 hours
3. Uncover slow cooker. Place the biscuit dough on top of the mixture. Recover, and cook for an additional 1 hour on high

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

