Daddy Bruce’s Salmon and Rice — 4 Stars

So, one of the good things about going to see my dad is that he cooks for me.  And good food, too.  (Somehow, when my sisters are home, I end up doing a lot of cooking — remember the Cinnamon Rolls? — but that’s a different story.)  The last time I was home, my dad fried salmon, covered the salmon with sauteed tomato slices and onion rings, and served this next to coconut rice with raisins.

You might be thinking: coconut rice?  With raisins?  Ummm….  I, too, was a bit skeptical when I heard this, but the dish was surprisingly tasty.  There’s only a hint of coconut in the rice, and the raisins complement the coconut flavor well.  When my dad made this recipe, he nicely sliced a large, still-on-the-vine-in-the-store tomato, and a nice, medium-sized yellow onion.  I, on the other hand, had previously chopped up a giant white onion, and I quickly diced a Roma tomato to go with the onion.  Also, I decided to add some raisins to the onion and tomato, to add some sweetness to salmon.

Obviously, thanks to my dad for this recipe.  🙂

Ingredients
4 Tbsp oil
1  lb salmon fillets, cut into 5 pieces
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp red pepper
1/2 cup diced onion
1/2 cup diced tomato
3/4 cup raisins
1 cup rice (uncooked)
1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
1 cup water

Directions
1.  In a small pot, combine the rice, coconut milk, and water.  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Lower heat to low, and cover.  Let the rice cook as you prepare the rest of the meal.
2.  Combine the salt, pepper, and red pepper.  Sprinkle both sides of the salmon fillets with (all but 1/2 tsp of) this mixture.
3.  Pour 3 Tbsp oil into a large frying pan.  Warm the oil over medium high heat. 
4.  Add the salmon, skin side down, to the pan.  Fry for about 5-7 minutes, or until the bottom half of the salmon has changed color.
5.  Flip over the salmon, and fry for another 4 minutes.  Remove salmon from pan, and put on plates.
6.  Add 1 Tbsp oil to the frying pan.  Add the onions, and sautee for 30 seconds.  Add the tomatoes, and the last 1/2 tsp of the salt and peppers mixture.  Sautee this gravy until the onions are translucent and the tomatoes are soft.  
7.  Add 1/4 cup raisins to the onion/tomato gravy, and sautee for another minute.
8.  Spoon the onion, tomato, and raisin gravy even over each salmon fillet.
9.  When the rice looks just about done (or, when it is done), stir in 1/2 cup raisins, and let the rice sit for about 10 minutes.
10.  Serve the rice next to the salmon, with vegetables of your choice on the side.
 

And if PC reads this, I know you hate coconut and raisins.  But you declined my dinner invite, and to deal with the pain of rejection, I made something you wouldn’t like, and told myself that is why you did not join me for dinner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

