Quick Chicken Curry — 4 of 5 stars

 In preparation for the start of classes, I’m trying to define new requirements for recipes

  1. Relatively quick and easy to make, 
  2. No expensive ingredients of which I’ll only use a small portion
  3. Stores well in the fridge or freezer.

(I should also make a resolution to spend less on cookbooks and to stop bookmarking so many internet recipes, but really?  I know I could never do that.  Anyway…)  After glancing through my recipes, I settled on a Quick Chicken Curry.  It had quick in the title.  That implies quick and easy, right?

Actually, yes.  It was pretty quick and quite easy to make.  The recipe took me more than 30 minutes to make…I went through two and a half Planet Money podcasts from the time I started prep work to the time I taste-tested the completed dish.  I’m not sure what it says about me that I measure time in blocks of NPR podcasts, but I’m sure that doesn’t make me a strange person.  NPR is for cool people.  Oh, right.  I’m supposed to be talking about the curry recipe.  As long as you know how to use your chef’s knife, cutting board, measuring cup, and frying pan, you’ll find this recipe simple to make.

Cooking, as you know, is all about improvising, so I altered the recipe slightly.  I didn’t have a red onion, so I substituted about 1/2 cup chopped white onion for the sliced red onions.  I used two large Roma tomatoes because they were on sale and "regular" tomatoes were not.  When I copied down the recipe, I forgot to write down "kosher", so I just used table salt.  (Truthfully, kosher salt is no where in my kitchen, so I probably would have used table salt regardless.)  Being a curry fan, I added an extra teaspoon of curry powder, for good measure.

The final dish was a quite tasty, if not a bit salty.  I’ll halve the amount of salt I use next time.  Also, diced tomatoes are just fine, but it might be nice to puree half of them for a smoother curry.  The author warned about the curry becoming thick during the final cooking; I found the opposite to be true.  I had to simmer the dish for an extra few minutes to thicken the sauce to my liking.  Hmm…Other than these small changes, I really enjoyed the dish.  I can see myself making this for other people soon.

 

Quick Chicken Curry
Adapted from 660 Curries by Raghavan Iyer

2 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cup chopped white onion
2 tbsp garlic, minced
4 tsp ginger, minced
1 cup diced tomato
1 1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 1/2 tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp salt 
1 tsp sugar
½ cup unsweetened coconut milk
2 1/2 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
 

  1. Preheat a skillet over medium high heat.  Add the oil and sauté the onion, garlic and ginger until lightly golden, about 5 minutes. 
  2. Add the chicken and the curry powder and cook until the chicken is browned on all sides, about 5 more minutes.
  3. Add the tomato and any juices, salt, sugar, and coconut milk.
  4. Reduce heat to MEDIUM LOW (not low; it’ll take forever on low) and simmer until the chicken is cooked through, 5-7 minutes.  If the sauce gets too thick, add a tablespoon of water. Remove from heat and stir in the cilantro. 
  5. Serve with rice

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

