Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies – 5 out of 5 stars

Oh.
My.
Goodness.

Seriously.  These cookies are so good, I am jealous of myself for being able to make them.  These cookies are so good that my heart goes out to all the people in the world who did not enjoy them with me.  These cookies are so good that I have been depressed since I ate my last one.  Yes, they’re that good.  Actually, I take that back; they’re even better.

Oh, right.  You probably want a link to the recipe.  Here ya go.  I followed the recipe exactly, for once.  I have a couple things you should keep in mind when you make these.  First, when I mixed the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients, the dough was crumbly, and it took a little longer than expected for it to come together.  Once it did come together, it was certainly just combined, not like chocolate chip cookie dough or oatmeal raisin cookie dough.  Secondly, the cookies didn’t expand much when in the oven.  So, the size they were when I put them in the oven was just slightly the size they were when I took them out of the oven.  Keep that in mind when you make these for your good friends.

Instead of shaping the cookie dough balls with my fingers, I used my small cookie scoop, which is about 1" or 1.5" in diameter.  To make the indentation, I used the back of the cookie scoop.  The 10 oz bottle of cherries I purchased had only 30 cherries, and I got the dough to yield 34 cookies.  The recipe claims to make 36-48 cookies, but I think those would be too small.  As the recipe states, you do add the frosting before you bake the cookies.  It doesn’t run, so don’t worry about the frosting ruining your cookie pans in the oven.  A tip, though, is to make sure the frosting covers all of the cherry before baking.  The frosting is rich and silky, but when I make these again, I will probably add some almond extract (1/2 tsp, maybe?) to the frosting.

And, there you have it.  How to make the most amazing cookies in the world.  They’re time-consuming and a bit labor-intensive to make, but oh so worth it.  Make them for your friends.  Make them for your enemies.  The world will thank you.

Makes 30ish cookies

Ingre
dients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 (10 ounce) jar maraschino cherries, drained, reserve juice
  • 1 (6-ounce) package semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and soda, blending well; set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat together butter or margarine and sugar on low speed until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well.  Gradually add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture; beat until smooth and well blended.
  3. Using small cookie scoop, scoop dough onto ungreased baking sheet.  Press down center of dough with back of cookie scoop.
  4. Drain Maraschino cherries well, reserving juice.  Place a cherry in the center indention of each cookie.
  5. In small saucepan combine chocolate pieces and sweetened condensed milk; heat over low heat until chocolate is melted.  Stir in 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon of the reserved cherry juice.
  6. Spoon about 1 teaspoon of the topping over each cherry, spreading to cover cherry.  If frosting seems too thick, thin with a little more cherry juice.
  7. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes, or until done.  Remove to wire rack to cool.
  1.  
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

